a mother’s day ghost story

12 May

i have already blog some experiences. but here is something that my mother had told me. it concerns when she worked as a housekeeper back before she met my father.
this was in the late 50s. my mother was working for a wealthy woman name   mrs.harrington.
mrs. harrington was a nice woman. and took care of my mother. and gave her things around christmas. and my mother’s birthday.
well mrs. harrington was suffering cancer. and not long after that she died.
mrs. harrington’s husband asked my mother to stay on. so my mom agreed.
as the months past. things returned to normal. then one day. as my mom set out to do her business. she heard a voice call out her name. it was mrs. harrington’s.
my mother not thinking called out to her. but then realized she was dead.
my mother heard her voice several times. and asked my grandmother what she should do.
my grandmother told her to take a pin from another room and place it in the dead woman’s room.
so my mother took a pin from mrs harrington’s daughter’s room and place it in the dead woman’s room. and she never heard the voice again.

4 Responses to “a mother’s day ghost story”

  1. Sen May 13, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    Why a pin in particular?

    • acrossinfinity May 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      well it is an old belief that anything maded of steel can drive certain spirits away. but it was a tradition in my mother’s family that an object of a living person can quiet a spirit of a dead person down. and send them on their way.

  2. temporalchameleon May 13, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    My Mother told me about this strange thing that would happen every so often in my Great-Grandmother’s old house. When my Mother was a young girl, she would occasionally hear singing and music coming from one of the upstairs bedrooms. Great-Grandmother always told her that she was never to enter that room; no matter what she heard coming from the other side. But she would sit at the door and listen to the singing anyway. She really wanted to go into that room and sing with the other children. I guess it sounded like they were having a really good time!

Leave a Reply

